A Gift Horse

I know that it is possible to reject a good gift, to treat it as a curse or a burden. My seven-year-old received a beautiful book from his grandmother for Easter, but he was in an “I hate to read” space, and didn’t even give it a chance. Have I been doing the same thing?
My husband says, “Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.” And I say, “You should, once you get home with it. You need to know what to feed it, and how to care for it…”
Looking a gift horse in the mouth.
These verses haunt me:
James 1:16-17–Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren. Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow. (NASB)
Job 2:10–But he said to her, “You speak as one of the foolish women speaks. Shall we indeed accept good from God and not accept adversity?” In all this Job did not sin with his lips. (NASB)
I had no doubt that Pocoyo’s life was a gift from God.
Perhaps the end of her life was a gift, as well? How does one accept such a gift?

Leave a Reply

